LSMU membership

< Back


BOVA – Cooperation network of agricultural and forestry and veterinary universities of the Baltic States, established in 1996 and uniting universities in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

Universities, members of BOVA:

The BOVA University Network plans and organises short intensive master’s and doctoral courses, general courses for lecturers, promotes the development of subject and professional networks, joint research programmes, joint projects (including EU-funded projects), and joint projects with the NOVA University Network.

NOVA – Network of Nordic universities of agriculture and forestry and veterinary medicine, founded in 1995 and uniting agricultural universities in Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden and Iceland.

Universities, members of NOVA:

Cooperation between BOVA and NOVA university networks takes place through the development of joint master’s courses, sending BOVA doctoral students to NOVA doctoral courses, and implementing mobility projects supported by the NordPlus Foundation.

Opportunities for students

Students of the LSMU Veterinary Academy have the opportunity to participate in international intensive courses at all the universities listed above. Detailed information about BOVA and NOVA activities and a list of courses are available on the following website


Lithuanian University of Health Sciences is an active partner and participant in integrated science, study and business centers called valleys. Today, LSMU is a member and active partner of the Nemunas Valley and the Santaka Valley. To achieve this partnership, the R&D infrastructure development activities envisaged in the valley programmes are implemented, the main goal of which is directly correlated with the strategic goals of the valleys themselves – to promote science and innovation, ensure their dissemination and access to the latest research infrastructure. Direct access to the latest R&D infrastructure will be provided by open access centres set up by the Valley’s partners, providing a gateway to the latest research equipment and technology.

LSMU is a partner of two valleys, so different open access centres have been established. Currently, LSMU has the following open access centres:

  • Centre for the Latest Pharmaceutical and Health Technologies
  • Centre for Animal Nutrition and Biotechnology
  • Centre for Animal Health and Quality of Raw Materials of Animal Origin

Maloniai atsakysime į visus Jums rūpimus klausimus susijusius su mūsų teikiamomis MTEP veiklomis ir jų komercializavimo galimybėmis. Klausimus prašome We will be happy to answer all your questions related to our R&D activities and their commercialisation opportunities. Please send your questions to –


EAEVE – Europos veterinarijos aukštųjų mokyklų – The European Association of Establishments for Veterinary Education,established1988. Dr. Stéphane Martinot, VEE Vetagro Sup (France) is currently the president of the Association for the 2020–2022 period.

LSMU Faculty of Veterinary Medicine became a full member of EAEVE in 2000 and is accredited.

Membership in this organisation opens up international recognition, cooperation opportunities and promotes the progress of the Veterinary Medicine study programme of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine of LSMU.

EAEVE unites 106 veterinary faculties of European and world universities. Of these, 91 European universities are full members, 19 are candidate members and 6 are partner members from Japan, Thailand, Jordan and Tunisia.

EAEVE has been the official accreditation body for European veterinary universities since 1994. Since 2018, EAEVE itself has been accredited and became a member of the European Network of Quality Agencies for Higher Education (ENQA).

EAEVE, in close cooperation with the European Federation of Veterinarians (FVE) and the International Association of Veterinary Students (IVSA), evaluates, trains and encourages universities developing veterinary medicine to develop and improve the quality and standards of veterinary training in accordance with the European Higher Education Area Quality Assurance Framework and guidelines (ESG15) not only in the European Union but also in other parts of the world.

The assessment system implemented by EAEVE ensures that the public has confidence in the veterinarians trained by an accredited higher education institution and the services they provide, and assures students that the quality of their studies meets the training standards for veterinarians.

More about EAEVE and its activities and partners:


The LSMU Institute for Health Research is accredited as a collaborating centre with the World Health Organization

In 2012 The Health Research Institute of the Faculty of Public Health of the Lithuanian University of Health Sciences (hereinafter – the Institute) was accredited for the first time by the World Health Organization as a Collaborating Centre for the Prevention and Control of Chronic Non-Communicable Diseases. In 2016 and 2020, the Institute was re-accredited for four years, and Dr. Mindaugas Štelemėkas was appointed as the head of the cooperating centre.

The main objectives of the cooperation – research in the fields of biomedicine and social sciences, training of scientists, provision of the of expert services for institutions that formulate and implement the general health policy of the country and its individual regions.

More information on WHO collaborating centres can be found on the following website.



The Conference of Rectors of Lithuanian Universities is an association composed of rectors of university higher education institutions

The Conference of Rectors of Lithuanian Universities coordinates the relations between the rectors (directors) of higher education institutions and with the institutions of state power and management and municipalities.

The goals of the conference are to promote the development of Lithuanian science, studies, culture and economy, cooperation between higher education institutions, mutual and international relations between higher education institutions, and cooperation with government and management and local government institutions.


The European University Association (EUA) represents more than 800 conferences of universities and national rectors in 48 European countries.  The EUA plays a key role in the Bologna Process and in influencing EU higher education, research and innovation policies.  Through its ongoing cooperation with various other European and international organisations, the EUA ensures that the independent voice of European universities is heard.


The European Association for Medical Education (AMEE) is a global organisation with members in 90 countries, on five continents.  Members include teachers, educators, researchers, administrators, curriculum developers, deans, evaluators, students and trainees in the medical and healthcare professions.

9AMEE promotes international advancement in healthcare professions through undergraduate, graduate, and continuing education processes.  AMEE, in collaboration with other organisations, supports teachers and institutions in their current educational activities and in developing new approaches to curriculum planning, teaching and learning methods, assessment methods, and educational governance in response to medical advances, healthcare changes, patient needs, new educational thinking and methods.