To develop, accumulate, systematise and disseminate knowledge of neuroscience, to teach and develop a creative, honest, enterprising, educated and independent personality and a healthy and educated society.


  • To carry out high-quality studies that provide research-based state of the art knowledge and technology, reflecting higher university education and higher education qualifications. To develop a fully educated, ethically responsible, creative personality.
  • To conduct high-level research in the field of neuroscience, to train scientists.
  • To carry out a wide range of practical activities.
  • To cooperate with local and international partners.


The Department of Nervous and Mental Diseases at Kaunas University was established in 1924 and lasted until 1991. In 1965-1985 it was called the Department of Neurology and Psychiatry, in 1985 – 1991 – the Department of Nervous, Mental Diseases and Neurosurgery. From 1924 to 1939, it was led by Prof. J. Blažys, 1939 – 1945 –  Prof.  P. Vaičiūnas, 1945 – 1953 – Prof. L. Gutmanas, 1953-1989 – Prof. J. Šurkus, 1989 – 1991 – Assoc. Prof. Dr. E. Jaržemskas. The Department’s Unit of Nervous Diseases had long been led by Prof.  Habil. Dr. A. Jocevičienė, later Assoc. Prof. Dr. V. Ostrauskas, Assoc. Prof. Dr. V. Kuliukas, Assoc. Prof. Dr. V. Pauza. In 1991, the Department of Neurology was established from the Unit of Nervous Diseases of the former Department and Kaunas Academic Clinics 1st and 2nd Departments and the Department of Children’s Nervous Diseases. From 1991 to 1996, Dr. V. Pauza was the Head of this department, and from 1996 to 2006 – Prof. Dr. N. Vaičienė – Magistris, since 2006 until present – Prof. Habil. Dr. D. Rastenytė.

Directions of clinical activity

The Department of Neurology provides full support for all levels of neurology and children’s neurology to the residents of Lithuania.

Diseases of the Nervous System

The module is taught to the 5th year students of the LSMU Medical Faculty in Lithuanian and English. 5 LSMU clinical departments participate in the module:

  • Department of Neurology
  • Department of Neurosurgery
  • Department of Rehabilitations
  • Department of Infectious Diseases
  • Department of Radiology

Foundations of Neurology for psychologists

It is taught in Lithuanian and English to second-cycle Clinical Health Psychology students of LSMU Faculty of Public Health.

Functional neuroanatomy

It is taught in Lithuanian and English to second-cycle Clinical Health Psychology students of LSMU Faculty of Public Health.


  • Neurology residency study programme (ė years, since 1 August 2023 – 5 years)
  • Paediatrics and paediatric neurology residency study programme (6 years: 4 years paediatrics, 2 years paediatric neurology)

During residency study programmes, resident doctors of other specialities also continue their studies at the Department of Neurology –  neurosurgeons, residents of internal medicine, physical medicine and rehabilitation, psychiatry, family medicine, haematology, emergency care, rheumatology, infectious diseases, child and adolescent psychiatry and paediatric residents of all specialities.


Since 1991, 24 doctoral theses have been defended at the Department of Neurology.

Information will be available soon.

Information will be available soon.

LSMU Department of Neurology
Prof. Habil. Dr. Daiva Rastenytė
Head of the Department of Neurology
Visi kontaktai