Prof. Aukse Mickenė Receives a Prestigious Award from the President of the Republic of Lithuania

< Back

On the occasion of State Restoration Day, the President of the Republic of Lithuania, Gitanas Nausėda, bestowed state honours for merits to Lithuania and for promoting the nation’s reputation globally. Among the honourees was Professor and Doctor of Science Auksė Mickienė, a distinguished infectologist at the Lithuanian University of Health Sciences.

For her outstanding contributions to clinical biomedical research in infectious diseases, alongside her pedagogical and administrative endeavours, and her invaluable contribution to Lithuanian medical science, Professor A. Mickienė was honoured with the Knight’s Cross of the Order of the Lithuanian Grand Duke Gediminas.

“Receiving such a distinguished award, particularly on the occasion of the 16 February, fills me with immense joy and pleasure. I regard it as recognition of the collective merits of the entire staff at the LSMU Department of Infectious Diseases. It is also rewarding to see the speciality of infectiology acknowledged in this way.

The ceremony itself, marked by a solemn and dignified atmosphere, offering the chance to be amongst a group of highly esteemed individuals, presented a new and extraordinary experience in my life, a profound honour and delight,” said Professor A. Mickienė.

In total, the President honoured 89 individuals who have made significant contributions to the Republic of Lithuania, on the occasion of 16 February.

“I wish to extend my heartfelt gratitude to each and every one of you who are committed to the common causes of Lithuania and who, in the face of numerous challenges, are building the unity we so greatly require. A unity that remarkably extends beyond our national boundaries and links Lithuania with kindred spirits around the world. May all your endeavours serve as an inspiring example and consistently stand as a testament to the supremacy of light over darkness,” the Head of State declared to those gathered in the White Hall of the Presidential Palace.